Author Topic: Melodeon advice  (Read 10384 times)

Ant

Melodeon advice
« on: Tuesday, January 3 2012 07:45PM GMT-1 »
Hi there,

I've got some Christmas money to spend and I've decided that I'm finally going to get myself a melodeon and have a go at teaching myself. I'm a complete beginner but a pretty good piano and guitar player so I'm confident I can master the basics.

Anyway, I know I need a D/G two row melodeon but don't know much else. I have a limited budget (basically £300 at the very, very most) and I know that this will only get me a beginner's instrument.

I've seen one for £230 in a sale... it's a D/G Stephenelli, 21-treble buttons and 8-bass buttons

Ant

Melodeon advice
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday, January 3 2012 07:46PM GMT-1 »
and I want to know if this is

a) a suitable instrument for a beginner
b) value for money

ANY advice gratefully received.

Ant

Ant

Re: Melodeon advice
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday, January 3 2012 07:49PM GMT-1 »
Or even better, if any one has (or knows of) a suitable second-hand instrument for sale for around that figure...

Offline Anna

« Reply #3 on: Tuesday, January 3 2012 08:30PM GMT-1 »
It is perfectly possible to teach yourself, and is a great instrument to learn. I would strongly advise having a proper look at any melodeon you're thinking about buying. They will all handle differently, and some are more responsive than others. I've got a Scarlatti Woods, which feels much nicer than the other lower-priced boxes I looked at (I found some to be too chunky and difficult to get my fingers round, and others just felt cheap and nasty), and it's relatively quiet, so doesn't disturb the neighbours too much! I consider mine to be really good value for money, and don't get time to play it half as much as I'd like to - I'd never put it down given the opportunity!

PS. It's worth having a look at http://forum.melodeon.net/index.php to familiarise yourself with the layout of the buttons and poke about for advice  :aemo_squeeze: