Author Topic: Questions for Folk Musicians  (Read 5962 times)

Offline timdoyle91

Questions for Folk Musicians
« on: Wednesday, December 19 2012 06:11PM GMT-1 »
Hi all,

First off, I have to apologise. This is the second time I've used this forum for essay research, but hopefully this should be the last!

I'm a BA music student and I'm currently researching for a project titled: "English Folk music in the current climate and the continuation of tradition". I was hoping the musicians among the community on here could help me with a quick questionnaire.

I have 5 questions for anyone who is a practicing folk musician (I wrote the questions with bands and regularly gigging musicians in mind but any replies are welcome). They shouldn't take too long to answer, and it would really help my research!

Here are the questions:

1.   What does the term ‘Folk Music’ mean to you, and how is it distinguishable from other similar music?
2.   Do you consider yourself to be part of continuing the folk tradition? Why?
3.   Do you feel that there should be a clear divide between folk music to be preserved and folk music to be developed, or should it all be grouped together under ‘Folk’? Is there a conflict between progression and preservation?
4.   How do you feel the attitudes of the public differ (if at all) towards traditional music in England compared to that of Ireland and Scotland?
5.   Do you feel that English folk music is mainly consumed by the older generations? If so, why is this the case?

Thanks so much for your help

Tim

Offline timdoyle91

Re: Questions for Folk Musicians
« Reply #1 on: Friday, January 4 2013 11:30AM GMT-1 »
Any takers?

Sorry I know it was probably the wrong time of year to post this, as everyone has been busy with the festivities.

Offline Ollie

• I Morris, therefore I am
« Reply #2 on: Friday, January 4 2013 01:38PM GMT-1 »
Hi Tim

I'm not a gigging musician (really) but I would class myself as a folk musician, so here goes...