Author Topic: Songbook?  (Read 8320 times)

Gumble

Songbook?
« on: Tuesday, April 28 2009 07:45PM GMT-1 »
Sorry if this has already been covered, but did I hear some mutterings about a Spiers and Boden songbook? It sounds as though copies of the old John Spiers songbook are like gold dust now.

If there is one on the horizon that would be fantastic - I just started playing the melodeon and have been bumbling through Melodeon.net, FolkTuneFinder and FolkInfo trying to find as many managable S&B and BH songs as possible!

I'm new to posting here by the way, so hi everyone!  :D

Stu

Re: Songbook?
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday, April 28 2009 09:02PM GMT-1 »
Hey Gumble, as far as I know there's nothing on the near future about a songbook, however, I would be happy to send you some of their traditional tunes they play that I have notated.  Just give me a PM!  Happy Posting!  :)

Offline firebird

• BrightYoungFolk
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday, April 28 2009 10:30PM GMT-1 »
Hello and welcome! There used to be all sorts of useful resources around on the S&B and Bellowhead websites, but since they've both been redesigned, all has been lost...

There were indeed mutterings, but mutterings is all...

BUT, there are some suggestions from Squeezy here: http://forums.spiersandboden.com/index.php?topic=174.0 (although the wayback machine is brilliant, none of the images work, so sleevenotes but no actual dots  ::)).

As Stu says, the traditional songs and tunes can be found from a range of sources, of which you seem to be aware of a fair few (btw, I lurk over on mel.net under my real name - Ellie - see you there! :)). And the Hardcore English Book published by the EFDSS is very good for some familiar sounding tunes, and lots of other nice tunes.

So Squeezy, are you hard at work writing the new songbook? ;D (all is forgiven if you are instead hard at work creating wonderful new music for us to listen to and marvel at :D).
« Last Edit: Tuesday, April 28 2009 10:32PM GMT-1 by firebird »