Author Topic: Guitar Tunings?  (Read 12195 times)

id137

Guitar Tunings?
« on: Saturday, August 8 2009 02:06PM GMT-1 »
Hey there,

I am pretty new to folk and S&B, so sorry if this has already been covered.

Does anyone out there know what guitar tunings Jon uses? I am thinking particularly on "Birth of Robin Hood" from Vagabond.

Thanks,

Offline Ollie

• I Morris, therefore I am
Re: Guitar Tunings?
« Reply #1 on: Sunday, August 9 2009 05:22PM GMT-1 »
Ok, this is weird... I was just thinking about asking the exact same question! I personally use open G for Birth of Robin Hood.
"Tradition must be respected, convention can be broken; but only when you know which is which."

id137

« Reply #2 on: Sunday, August 9 2009 07:39PM GMT-1 »
I saw S&B at Cardigan a couple of months ago and JB played with a capo, but to my (untrained) eye it seemed to be a partial capo, i.e. the top string was played open.

I'm sure I can work on the "Birth of Robin Hood". Before I start does anyone have any idea of chords to get me started?

Thanks

Offline Ollie

« Reply #3 on: Sunday, August 9 2009 07:47PM GMT-1 »
Yup, here's what I play for the first verse

G      G/A       G/B    C                    C        D         G
Oh Willy’s tall and Willy’s strong and he’s born of high degree
      G  G/B C          G                                      D     D/F#
And he has gone to Earl Richard to serve obediently
      G  G/B  C          G                                          D       D/F#
Earl Richard had one daughter dear, the fairest to be seen
      G      G/A   G/B        C       C       D        G
And Willy fell in love with her all in the garden green.

Hope that helps.
"Tradition must be respected, convention can be broken; but only when you know which is which."

Jon Boden

« Reply #4 on: Wednesday, August 12 2009 01:34PM GMT-1 »
Hi Ollie.